Child support in Florida is calculated based on the child support guidelines set forth in Florida Statutes, Chapter 61.30. Child support is based on the income of each parent and the number of children. Each parent must file a financial affidavit reflecting monthly income, expenses, assets and liabilities
The Florida Child Support Guidelines are very specific about the earnings that must be included in “gross income” and the deductions that are allowable to determine “net income”.
Child support is paid until a child reaches the age of 18 years. A court may require payment of child support past 18 years of age if the child is dependent because of mental or physical incapacity which began before reaching 18, or if the child is between 18 and 19, is still in high school, performing in good faith, and is reasonably expected to graduate before the age of 19.
If there is a substantial change of circumstances that occurs after the entry of a child support order, the child support may be modified. This is usually due to a change in the timeshare or the financial circumstances of one of the parties.
Child support may be paid directly to the other parent or through the State of Florida Disbursement Unit. The State of Florida Disbursement Unit is a record keeping facility that keeps a record of the child support payments and charges a small fee for facilitating the payment. Payments may also be garnished from a parent’s wages. There used to be a stigma attached to garnishment, however, now that most daily transactions are handled digitally or online, it is a welcomed convenience.
This firm can assist you in understanding the child support guidelines and litigate, enforce or modify child support orders.